Corridor vert Châteauguay-Léry

A natural and ecologically invaluable corridor linking Île Saint-Bernard to the Fernand-Seguin ecology centre, the “green corridor” is located within the municipalities of Châteauguay and Léry. Covering a total area of approximately 1000 hectares, this succession of valuable ecosystems is unfortunately still not fully protectedy, y0et the green corridor is known for the diversity of its habitats and wide variety of animal and plant species that call the area home. This land is one of the key components of Greater Montréal’s green belt.

For Héritage Saint-Bernard, it is paramount to preserve the entire Châteauguay-Léry green corridor and prevent the land from being fragmented. Action is progressively being taken to increase the number of protected hectares in the hope of reaching this great dream of a fully protected area.

We believe that in a context where natural sites are increasingly scarce, any land-use planning at a metropolitan scale, should set aside a significant place for natural spaces at all times. These spaces act as the lungs of cities and regions. Destroying a natural area to make way for a housing development means this area is gone forever and irreparable damage is caused not only to the environment, but also to public health.

CONTACT US

Île Saint-Bernard

480 D'Youville boulevard
Châteauguay (Québec)  J6J 5T9

Phone number: 450 698-133
Email: info@heritagestbernard.qc.ca

All rights reserved to Héritage Saint-Bernard

Home

Français

EN
FR_CA EN

Corridor vert Châteauguay-Léry

Corridor naturel de haute valeur écologique reliant l’île Saint-Bernard au centre écologique Fernand-Seguin, le corridor vert est situé sur les municipalités de Châteauguay et de Léry. D’une superficie totale de près de 1000 hectares, cette succession d’écosystèmes riches n’est malheureusement pas encore protégée dans son intégralité. Le corridor vert est pourtant reconnu pour la diversité de ses habitats et pour la grande variété des espèces fauniques et floristiques qui s’y trouvent. Ce territoire constitue l’un des maillons essentiels de la ceinture verte du Grand Montréal.

Pour Héritage Saint-Bernard, il est primordial de conserver l’intégralité du corridor vert Châteauguay-Léry et d’empêcher un morcellement du territoire. Progressivement, des actions sont prises afin d’agrandir le nombre d’hectares protégés dans l’espoir d’atteindre ce grand rêve de protection complète.

Nous sommes d’avis que dans un contexte où les milieux naturels se font de plus en plus rares, la planification du développement à l’échelle métropolitaine, tout comme à l’échelle d’une municipalité, devrait en tout temps laisser une place importante aux espaces naturels, poumons des villes et régions. Un milieu naturel rasé qui fait place à un développement domiciliaire l’est pour toujours et cause des dommages irréparables tant à l’environnement qu’à la santé publique.