COVID-19 | RESTRICTIONS JUSQU’AU 23 NOVEMBRE 2020 • DETAILS HERE

Located in Châteauguay, less than 30 minutes away from Montréal, Île Saint-Bernard is home to exceptional natural and heritage resources! This unique destination comprises two sectors. The first one, called the tertre or knoll of the island, encompasses some 7% of the area, whereas the Refuge faunique Marguerite-D’Youville (wildlife sanctuary) accounts for 93%.

TERTRE DE L'ÎLE

Belonging to the Grey Nuns for more than two centuries, the knoll is now considered a municipal park since it was acquired by the city of Châteauguay in 2011. Access to the site is free and it is tremendously popular for its magnificent landscapes which can be admired sitting on one of the hundreds of Adirondack chairs available to visitors.

Close to a dozen buildings sit on the knoll, including several ancestral ones, offering a variety of services. You will find La Traite Bistro, the Manoir D’Youville (a 115-room hotel), a stone manor, a mill dating back to 1686, a coffeehouse and a playhouse. There is also the organic apple orchard boasting more than 1000 trees that brings delight to families in the fall.

REFUGE FAUNIQUE MARGUERITE-D'YOUVILLE

Covering an area of 223 hectares, the refuge faunique Marguerite-D’Youville has been officially protected in perpetuity since 2010. The wildlife sanctuary’s enormous richness includes a wide variety of ecosystems, such as marshes, wetlands, fallow land and maple and oak stands. There are eight kilometres of trails much to the delight of outdoor enthusiasts, families, bird watchers and photographers. A fee is charged to access the wildlife sanctuary, which is reinvested in maintaining the site and also in upgrading facilities and services.

One of the attractions of this rich habitat is no doubt bird watching. The site is a major migratory stopover and over 240 bird species have been spotted. Many mammals roam freely, including a large number of white-tailed deer. Plant life is also plentiful and diverse and contributes to stunning scenery, which changes with every new ecosystem seen along the way.

Hikers can add to their outdoor experience by using an audio guide that provides information not only on the island’s history, but also on the wildlife and plants found throughout the site. In addition, the sanctuary’s digital rally, designed for families, is a free mobile application that is both a fun and educational way to discover the area!

Access to the Marguerite-D’Youville wildlife sanctuary, whether in summer or winter, is through the Pavillon de l’île. The site is open year round, from sunrise to sunset. Trails are available to hikers and snowshoers. However, going off trail or bringing dogs or other domestic animals is not allowed.

NOUS JOINDRE

Île Saint-Bernard

480 D'Youville boulevard
Châteauguay (Québec)  J6J 5T9

Téléphone: 450 698-3133
Courriel: info@heritagestbernard.qc.ca

All rights reserved to Héritage Saint-Bernard

Home

EN
FR_CA EN

L'île et son refuge

Située à Châteauguay, à moins de 30 minutes de Montréal, l’île Saint-Bernard offre des richesses naturelles et patrimoniales exceptionnelles! Deux secteurs composent cette destination unique : le premier, nommé le « tertre » de l’île, forme environ 7% du territoire, tandis que le refuge faunique Marguerite-D’Youville, le second secteur, constitue 93% de l’île.

Tarification Comment s'y rendre? / Heures d'ouverture Carte des sentiers Feuillet d'observation
eBird
Animaux domestiques interdits Vélos interdits

TERTRE DE L'ÎLE

Propriété des Sœurs Grises durant plus de deux siècles, le tertre est désormais considéré comme un parc municipal depuis son acquisition par la Ville de Châteauguay en 2011. Le site est accessible gratuitement et est très couru pour les sublimes paysages qu’il offre, admirables sur l’une des centaines de chaises Adirondack mises à la disposition des usagers.

Sur le tertre se trouvent près d’une dizaine de bâtiments, dont plusieurs ancestraux, offrant des services variés : le Bistro La Traite, le Manoir D’Youville (hôtel de 115 chambres), un manoir en pierre, un moulin datant de 1686, un café et une salle de spectacles. Puis, le verger biologique de plus de 1000 pommiers fait la joie des familles à l’automne.

Tertre
Refuge faunique Marguerite-D'Youville

REFUGE FAUNIQUE MARGUERITE-D'YOUVILLE

D’une superficie de 223 hectares, le refuge faunique Marguerite-D’Youville est officiellement protégé à perpétuité depuis 2010. La richesse de ce site repose sur la grande variété de ses écosystèmes : marais, marécages, rives, friches, érablières et chênaies. Huit kilomètres de sentiers sont aménagés au grand bonheur des amateurs de plein air, familles, ornithologues et photographes. Une tarification est en vigueur pour accéder au refuge faunique, laquelle est réinvestie dans l’entretien du territoire ainsi que dans l’amélioration des installations et des services.

L’un des attraits de ce riche habitat demeure l’observation des oiseaux. Halte migratoire d’importance, plus de 230 espèces d’oiseaux y ont été observés. De nombreux mammifères s’y promènent librement, dont les Cerfs de Virginie que l’on observe en grand nombre. La flore y est aussi très riche et diversifiée et propose des paysages époustouflants, qui évoluent au fil des écosystèmes rencontrés.

Les randonneurs peuvent améliorer leur expérience à l’aide d’un audioguide qui offre des renseignements sur l’histoire de l’île ainsi que sur la faune et la flore abritant le territoire. Également, le rallye numérique du refuge, destiné aux familles, est une application mobile proposant de parcourir le site d’une manière ludique et instructive à la fois, et ce, gratuitement!

Été comme hiver, on accède au refuge faunique Marguerite-D’Youville par le Pavillon de l’île. Le site est ouvert tous les jours de l’année, du lever au coucher du soleil. Les sentiers sont accessibles aux piétons et raquetteurs et la circulation hors sentiers y est interdite, tout comme les chiens et autres animaux domestiques.